The Luminosity Of My First Niece

This amazingly sweet baby is my niece Charli Raye šŸ™‚ Of course I am biased when I say that she is one of the most beautiful babies I’ve ever seen, lol. I did a full newborn session with her last March and I had such a great time photographing her šŸ™‚ I LOVE getting creative with babies, especially when I have all the time in the world to do what a want. I used a variety of props for her session, but i also wanted to capture her with her mom and dad (my gorgeous brother) and give these images a raw and timeless type of look. I think sometimes subtracting things from an image, leaves us face to face with our subjects exacerbating the emotion they transmit, and what could be more emotive than capturing someone being a parent for the first time?

_DSC4530webname _DSC4446web_DSC4554web _DSC4476web _DSC4520web_DSC4747web _DSC4752web _DSC4986web _DSC5031web

Among some of the props I used for her session are a variety of things you will find in a flee market like old suitcases, coke boxes, and fury rugs…. I also used baskets, cheesecloth wraps, and a mandolin case as my sister in law is a musician.

For the black and white portraits I asked my brother and sister in law to wear all black clothing, and for the baby to be fully naked. And for some other ones, I thought that my brother should be shirtless. I wanted to capture the beautiful contrast between strength and fragility, and those shots are probably my favorite ones in the whole session šŸ™‚

_DSC4906web _DSC5204web_DSC4576web_DSC5278web _DSC5273webAnd lastly, when I was editing all the images from the session, I came across some pictures of Charli making the funniest faces, but what made me laugh the most was the fact that my sister in law was holding her and posing in the most gracious way, while the baby for some reason was making some really strange and hysterical faces…. so I could not let that go to waste and I created some hilarious collages with them….. I hope you enjoy them šŸ™‚

Charlifacestext copyCharlifaces2textLOL! Charli, I hope you forgive me for this one day! haha šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Children's Photography, Family Photography, Newborn Photography, Professional Photography, Professional Portraits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

