The Importance Of Being Indian

Here is an assortment of the most interesting portraits I took during my journey in India. In my opinion, these people represent the country and its culture with much dignity and colorful splendor.

As I write this,  I experience a deep sense of gratitude for these people were my greatest teachers during my travels. They all in their own way and through their own unintentional example, made me realize something important about the purpose of living, and gave me a new sense of perspective that it has enriched my life.

They were beautiful children, parented or orphans, caring mothers, shop owners and beggars, street vendors, holy men, market workers and others.

They all contributed to make my experience memorable and unforgettable just by being there. I read in a book once that it is important to not only conceptualize our breakthroughs but also experience them. Breakthroughs are pretty much defined by a sudden flash of clarity or even perhaps a momentary lapse -not of reason but intuitive knowledge. The restrictions we once felt are dissolved and we suddenly taste a new form of understanding that fills us with a palpable sense of freedom.

I had many breakthroughs during my journey, some of them propitiated by mainly being present and observing, but most of them by my encounters with these incredibly humble and loving people who filled my heart with immense joy, and taught me some invaluable lessons on acceptance and living wholly.

Enjoy and thanks for stopping by… ♥

_DSC3456

_DSC2516 _DSC2462 _DSC2465 _DSC3413 _DSC2518 _DSC2535 _DSC2605 _DSC2639 _DSC2643 _DSC2714 _DSC2779 _DSC3355 _DSC3401 _DSC3703 _DSC3430 _DSC3444 _DSC3450 _DSC3452 _DSC3460 _DSC3463 _DSC3468 _DSC3471-2 _DSC3473 _DSC3488 _DSC3490 _DSC3491 _DSC3498 _DSC3501 _DSC3508 _DSC3669 _DSC3677 _DSC3681 _DSC3682 _DSC3918 _DSC4010 _DSC4032 _DSC4033 _DSC4037 _DSC4038 _DSC4043 _DSC4073 _DSC4096 _DSC4117_DSC2729And I had to include this picture of me with this AMAZING little being. He was one of the happiest kids i’ve ever met ♥

ALL IMAGES copyright Karina Heneghan.

 

 

This entry was posted in Advertising Photography, Essays, Fine Art Photography, Personal, Professional Photography, Travel Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Importance Of Being Indian

  1. Pete says:

    Wonderfully spoken! And amazing pictures. I can only imagine the experience. And with your words and eyes it brings it to life to some degree:) wonderfull stuff.

  2. mojo1972 says:

    Strikingly beautiful images!

  3. Darren says:

    K, you are very wise and talented – thanks for sharing!

  4. Heather says:

    I am overjoyed for you! What an amazing journey. Your dream has been fulfilled and I can only imagine how many more this journey created for you. 🙂
    God bless you miss Karina!

  5. Siddharth says:

    Great Portraits..The infinite richness of happiness and contentment on the faces above far overshadows the visible financial deprivation. Such are the values of this culture and the colors of-course 🙂 Your wisdom adds to the beauty your eyes capture ~ Jaanu ♥

  6. Jill says:

    Beautifully stated…you have such a way with words, Karina. You create the most powerful messages and images. I look and find my smile won’t go away!

Leave a Reply

