Solo in India

As I lay here and reflect upon all the amazing experiences I’ve had in India so far, I can’t help but feeling as if my life is entering a new cycle of rebirth.

I came here alone with the sole purpose of confronting my most fearful delusions and to do some really deep mind management. I believe that as we grow old we lose a sense of perspective in life due to a severe self-disconnection. Some of us can be really aware of this and some of us can stay in this ignorant state for an eternity and never do anything about it.

As I said in my last post, during the last year I felt a sort of existential despair that forced me into doing something this radical. Coming to India alone has been the most intimidating and terrifying experience of my entire life, but so far, I would not change it for the world. I have realized that as a solo traveler, your disposition determines the way you experience the world and the positivity and enrichment of your experiences, so I came here with one unbreakable self-agreement: To accept whatever comes my way as I would have chosen it for myself.

 As a member of such a prolific society, where we always have more than what we need, and our lives are orderly governed by laws that are often followed, I ask myself why most people live in such discontent. It is like an emotional disorder that it never gets addressed and even if it does, it only receives the wrong approach. Then, I travel across the world to find the most chaotic environment rooted in the most radical poverty you can imagine, but very few people seem to be remotely unhappy or even stressed? Yes, the contradiction is implausible, and that is the reason why I am here.

I find that this is the only country that has the power to truly transform me for many reasons. It is a country with very weak infrastructure and no rules, but its people are an example of what an ordinary mortal can endure and the contentment he can achieve through the power of acceptance.

 One thing is very real though, and that is the fact that nothing or nobody can ever prepare you for what you will encounter here. I don’t care how many stories you’ve heard, how much yoga you do, or how many Maharishi’s books you’ve read, if your heart is not open and you are not self aware enough to choose your responses, you will find yourself as the protagonist of your worst nightmare.

 As I daily try to process the behavior of a system that follows deterministic laws but appears very random and unpredictable, I choose to not resist it and to dilute it in the beauty I find everywhere, and that is what sustains me and trains me as I travel through India on my own.

The Chinese character for “crisis” is comprised by two other sub-characters, one that spells “danger” and one that spells “opportunity”. Sure is treacherous coming to India alone, a stupid idea perhaps for some, but in my opinion, our western behavior of reckless indifference to life and constant inconformity with our environment is a much more dangerous way of living.

Once in a while, have the courage to dive into the “dangerous” path of doing more than just existing, and you will have the “opportunity” to experience something extraordinary  🙂

 Love, Karina

Senses textweb

This entry was posted in Advertising Photography, Essays, Personal, Photo Quotes, Professional Photography, Travel Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Solo in India

  1. Sherry Russom says:

    Greetings my Dear Friend! As always your words and images a fresh, rich and stimulating! I am so grateful to share time and space with such an amazing being! Love to you!

  2. beamuj says:

    I completely agree with you on having an open heart! Beautiful picture on – colors of India too!

  3. Cara says:

    Karina, you are amazing, and your outlook is one I resonate with. Of course, this is why we remain so connected even across the distance. I would like to see the Chinese symbol you refer to…I’ve held fast to the notion of all things as opportunities, no matter how unbearable we may once have thought them to be. It’s but the thought that must change. Thank you for stretching yourself and for your willingness to share it with the rest of us. Love on your journey, inside and out!

    • Thank you my dear friend, your words mean a lot to me as I admire you very much Cara… you always take the path less traveled with much courage and wisdom and I resonate with that as well. You have to have a very strong sense of self to choose that type of life… Love you my friend, and thanks again for your words.

  4. Jill says:

    My beautiful friend…Love my daily dose of your wisdom! Your article is extraordinary. I admire your strength, courage, and acceptance. You are an inspirational woman making a difference in this world. Thank you for sharing your amazing journey with all of us. I love you!

  5. artistephotography says:

    Gorgeous photography, Karina! I am so glad you are having a wonderful trip! You are such an amazing woman and I am honored to be your friend! I can’t wait to hear about it all when you get back. 🙂

  6. anignorantatom says:

    Wise words by a wise woman ~ I love the collage (image) sound, sight, taste, smell and the fifth sense that of touch is what i feel through your words !!
    A perfect traveler creates the country that she travels 🙂

Leave a Reply

