Vintage New York

Vintage: adj. of old, recognized, and enduring interest, importance, or quality : classic 

I was looking through my archives a couple of weeks ago in order to find some cool images to display in my bedroom (I am redecorating) and at first I wanted to have all kinds of different images on my shelf, make it eclectic and fun, but then I thought that could be a bit busy for my bedroom , so I decided to create a collection more classic, cohesive and inspiring. I found some shots that I took in NYC during my travels there in the last 5 years. I went through thousands of images but these were the ones that spoke to me and I thought would look best as part of the collection. I find a lot of beauty in the imperfections of these images and I think every single one of them communicates something different. Please feel free to comment and tell me about your favorites, I am still trying to decide.

I edited the images giving them an old-vintage feel, including a brownish tonality that would make them look classic and timeless. I know there are MILLIONS of images of this amazing city, but we all have a very personal point of view, and in my opinion, some of these look a bit different from a lot of images I have seen.

I absolutely love square images, and in this particular case, I decided to not only make them square, but also to add up a cool negative border to resemble images taken in the 50s with a Rolleiflex and developed and toned in the darkroom, even though the Ektachrome 100 film is actually a color transparency and it was probably not available in the 50s 🙂 Oops… Oh well, I still think they look really cool.

All images copyrighted by Karina Heneghan Photographics

© Karina Heneghan Photographics

This entry was posted in Advertising Photography, Fine Art Photography, Personal, Professional Photography, Travel Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Vintage New York

  1. Oh my gosh, they are all super gorgeous. I LOVE the photo of Balthazar’s – your reflection is awesome. I think your bedroom will look fabulous! Lucky you that you have such a wealth of artwork at hand. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks so so much!! I am glad you like them. I can’t wait to print them and frame them, I really think they will look soooo cool on my wall. Thanks so much for stopping by. ♥♥

  2. love these, especially the hands

  3. Thanks! The hands are also one of favorites 🙂 ♥♥

  4. Tess says:

    Love them, Karina! I think my favorites are of the bridge. Miss you!

    • Hey Tess!! I was just thinking about you and how I forgot to text you about your grandpa! I am so sorry. The bridge is among my 5 favs !! I also love the mannequin with the old Polaroid and the lamp post in the library. I’ll text you or call you soon so we can get together !! ♥♥♥ Thanks for the feedback 🙂

  5. Jill says:

    I love them all, Karina! My favorites are of Balthazar’s, candles inside NYPL, the hands, the bridges (especially of the Brooklyn Bridge). When I look at the drums they make me smile and think of you and your beautiful spirit!

  6. brianhawley365 says:

    nice work

  7. dafarmer says:

    Wow what a beautiful set I love it!

  8. Amy says:

    These are so pretty. What did you use to edit them?

  9. Beautiful pictures! You captured the streets in all their liveliness! I think I tint gives them a sense of nostalgia, like remembering good old times.

  10. Eden says:

    Nice processing!

Leave a Reply

