Happy Love {♥} Day

I created this cute card with a picture I took of one of my books and a quote from the movie “The Tree of Life”. If you have not seen it please do it. It is one of the most “beautiful” films I have ever seen. The cinematography is outstanding and it really forces you to think and interpret the scenes which I think is very interesting and inspiring. It is a very artistic and ethereal film and definitely not suited for logical, sequential, rational thinking people, so if you tend to be left-brained then you probably won’t enjoy it 🙂 (If you are interested in reading a tutorial on how I created this card please let me know and I will work on it).

And here is a poem by my favorite poet Jelaluddin Rumi that I wanted to share with all of you:

The minute I heard my first love story I started looking for you, not knowing how blind that was.

Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere. They are in each other all along.

We are the mirror as well as the face in it. We are tasting the taste this minute of eternity. We are pain and what causes pain, both. We are the sweet cold water and the jar that pours .

I want to hold you close like a lute, so we can cry out with loving.

You would rather throw stones at a mirror? I am your mirror and here are the stones.  ~ Rumi 

As Rumi declares so wisely above, until we deeply and spiritually understand that “we are love” we will be deprived from experiencing the rapture of fully and truly loving others.  So today, instead of saying: “Be mine” or “I am in love with you” I am choosing to say:

I AM LOVE {♥} and that is why I love the way I do…

Unless you love (including yourself)… your life will flash by. 

Image copyright by Karina Heneghan

This entry was posted in Advertising Photography, Bokeh Photography, Essays, Fine Art Photography, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Happy Love {♥} Day

  1. Jill says:

    You have such a way with words, Karina. You are a beautiful, wise person. I am always in awe of your creativity and inspirational wisdom. I feel extremely fortunate every day to have you in my life.

    • Thank you Jilly!… I really appreciate your kind words and I am really happy to hear that you find my words helpful and inspiring. I am also so incredibly grateful that you are part of my life. Love you !

  2. Nikashblogs says:

    Hey! I love your blog it’s so inspiring &creative! Would love to hear what you think about my writing? http://nikashblogs.wordpress.com/2012/02/12/news-poems-and-new-extract-youthful-identity/ Thanks! 😀

  3. Hi !Thanks for the kind words, I am glad you are inspired by my work. I love your blog too and your poetry. It is very inspiring as well! Keep me posted on the e-book and best of luck ! 🙂

  4. iamscotia says:

    Good post. I was considering seeing Tree of Life, but my friend said it sucked so I skipped out on it. I guess I’ll have to give it a go now.

    • Well, if you go there expecting it to be a regular movie, it will suck.. haha, but if you go expecting an artistic/abstract film that you will have to interpret and you like that, then you will enjoy that. You will love the visual part of it at least. I thought that was spectacular. It has excellent reviews btw…. let me know ! 🙂

      • iamscotia says:

        That sounds good. I tend to like experimentalism in film. A lot better than seeing the old “bang, bang, you’re dead kill all people that want death to America” action movies people gobble up like their last meal. I tended not to take his opinion seriously considering he’s not the type of guy to like those types of movies. I’ll probably end up buying it on Blu-Ray to add to my collection.

  5. Håvard Hole says:

    Words there! I like the photo though, looks so great with the heartbokeh, and you did a good job making it a card 🙂

  6. Thanks Havard! Hope you are keeping up with your 52 week project 🙂

Leave a Reply

