Sunny California {Part II} The Paul Getty Museum

Hello everyone!! The only thing I can say is WWOOWW !! THANK YOU very much for ALL your kind comments about my images. I am so incredibly honored and humbled to have been published on “Freshly Pressed”. The post has received more than 12.000 hits so far and I now have couple hundred subscribers ! I want to also thank all of you who “liked” the post. I am really happy that you find my images inspiring and entertaining, as that is my main purpose… inspiring others. I am glad that through my images a lot of you felt compelled and inspired to visit CA, and some of you living here felt compelled to visit these amazing places ! :). Please do it. You will love them !

Among the hundreds of comments I read I also found many questions. I will try to answer some of them here, but for some more specific ones I will do it later in a more individual way.

First, I use a Nikon D300 camera. I know some of you wanted to know the specific settings I used for certain images and I will try to answer that later. The vibrant colors (sky, walls, etc) are achieved using a relatively small aperture when the image is taken, and then working with curves in photoshop.

Here are the some images I took at the AMAZING Paul Getty Museum which I believe is one the biggest museums in the western United States. I have seen many other museums in the U.S and in Europe, but this one just became one of my favorites! Its modern, 21 century architecture, size and the quality of its exhibits set it aside from the rest of the other museums in the country. Admission is FREE by the way!! Can you believe that? They only charge $ 15.00 for parking and that is it. So put this one on your list as well ! 🙂

As a quick addition, I just want to explain that my style on photographing cityscapes and architecture is very personal. I purposely do not use a wide angle lens for this. For me certain perspectives and sections of a building are more visually interesting than the building itself. I tend to capture what is not obvious to the naked eye and I perceive in an intuitive way, harmonious compositions of angles, light and backgrounds. I really hope you enjoy the new images. Stay tuned for Part III. Much more to come ! 🙂

I love the composition here. The lines from the buildings flow perfectly together with the shadows. Your eye goes straight to the center of the image…

I love this tree!! Isolating its branches against the cloudless sky created such a unique image.

The very minimalistic composition below is also very interesting to me 🙂

Solar reflections are another one of my favorite things to photograph. I particularly like the colorful glare they create on my lens that later is seen on the image.

Another thing I like to include in my compositions when it works is the presence of “one person”…. usually located in the middle of the frame. In this image above the person walking by gave the image a lot more life… and it also worked great with the perspective.

The Museum gardens were AMAZING, even in January. I thought they complemented the museum’s architecture so well. I heard they have 30+ gardeners that work really hard to maintain it so beautiful.

Back lit situations are very tricky to capture. They require a great deal of metering and bracketing in order to find the right exposure. I love everything about this image above. The lines of the building are amazing, the bright light in the background shows you what a clear day it was and immediately gives you a very happy emotional response, and the people peeking through the glass gives the image an element of fun! This was a mini model of the museum showing all the wings. It is so interesting to me how differently we are affected when looking at an image of something big and vast versus something so close and small…I really LOVE this image! The light is gorgeous, the colors are amazing and photographing the reflection of the building instead of the building itself made this image more visually exciting.

This entry was posted in Advertising Photography, Essays, Personal, Travel Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sunny California {Part II} The Paul Getty Museum

  1. This is a wonderful post! Such gorgeous photos taken with a great eye!
    I lived in CA for a while and The Getty was a favourite of mine – so thank you for the memories. Your photography and your text speaks very closely to why i enjoy photography – capturing the other side: reflections, shadows, size relativity, sun scapes, glimpses. I have alot to learn about metering and bracketing still and appreciate your descriptions about it – given with your pictures.
    If you can make it to the Getty Villa (another Getty museum) off of the Pacific Coast Highway in Malibu, I recommend it. I can show you some images from one of my VERY first posts – and photos were pre-DSLR: http://wp.me/p1YdU5-1Q
    it is also free and if you can find parking elsewhere, no fee!
    Thank you for sharing the SUN with us 🙂

    • Parking is still $15 at the villa and they won’t let you in if you don’t park there or have proof of a bus ride. You also have to reserve tickets before hand.

      Referring to your post, photos breath-taking once again. Have you studied photography/art long or are you just blessed with an amazing eye?

      • Hi Bold Wandering – hmmm, I wonder what would happen if I was given a lift to the Villa? Or if I stayed close by and walked there? Hopefully I’ll be back soon enough to find out 😉

      • Hi ! What is your name?. Thanks for the kind words. Glad you like my work. I studied photography in Paris for couple of months in 2002 and I keep taking some seminar updates at ICP (International Center of Photography) in NYC when I can, but I think mostly is self-taught. I have an immense passion for photography and self-expression.

        Regarding the Museum and Villa. My friend dropped me off at the Museum and they let me in just fine. I am not sure at the Villa in Malibu. They may have different rules. It is definitely so affordable though…. I also went to the LACMA and paid $ 15.00 that gave me access to MANY buildings and centers. Keep in touch ! 🙂

      • Hi ! What is your name?. Thanks for the kind words. Glad you like my work. I studied photography in Paris for couple of months in 2002 and I keep taking some seminar updates at ICP (International Center of Photography) in NYC when I can, but I think mostly is self-taught. I have an immense passion for photography and self-expression.

        Regarding the Museum and Villa. My friend dropped me off at the Museum and they let me in just fine. I am not sure at the Villa in Malibu. They may have different rules. It is definitely so affordable though…. I also went to the LACMA and paid $ 15.00 that gave me access to MANY buildings and centers. Keep in touch !

    • Hi Marina! Thanks for the kind words. I am so glad you like my photos and that we connected. Thanks also for the recommendation about the Getty Villa, I would have loved seeing it but I returned to Denver yesterday night and I did not have time to see it. I just saw your post about, what a beautiful place :). Next time for sure!. Where do you live now?

      • Next time you must visit the Villa! 🙂 I live in NYC and these days, my posts are all about it. Ever since I receive a DSLR, I’ve been out and about photographing. Hopefully I’ll get to my hometown of Sydney to do photograph its beautiful landscapes. Id love your comments on my photos as I really agree with your viewpoint on photography. Keep up the great work – would love to see photos of Denver!

    • Hi Marina… so cool that you live in NYC now. I went to NYC MANY times for long periods of time in 2010 as I was in a relationship with a guy that lived in the Upper West Side. I adore that city and everything about it, but I think I got a bit burt and claustrophobic there sometimes. I need space and sunshine in order to be happy!! so I am sooo happy in Denver now. I will definitely visit your blog and comment on your images. Since you live there now I think you will appreciate my lamps ! Check them out here and let me know what you think ! http://www.urbanityline.com

      • I completely understand the pull and push of NY – it’s why I find alot of solace in Central park and I live in Brooklyn, which is a word’s away from the craziness of Manhattan. That said, I really miss California and maybe my husband and I will move back there?! I would love your comments and tips! I don’t mind if you email me either with thoughts instead. I wanted to ask what camera you use and also whether there are any books you’d recommend. I haven’t attempted any software programs so would love your perspective. I am asking way too much of you~~ No pressure!! Thanks for your inspiration!

      • Hi Marina! No worries. I would love to help you and I will definitely send you all the info about camera, books, etc. Let’s try to email directly. Please email me @ photo@karinaheneghan.com so we can go from there. Thanks for keeping in touch! It is very obvious to me that you have such a passion for photography!! That is so great 🙂

  2. Trinh says:

    Absolutely gorgeous

  3. Håvard Hole says:

    You have such great and sharp colors in your photography! I really like that, and how you handle the light. You are very talented 🙂 I like the one with the reflecton in the glass, looks really awesome.

    • Hi Havard! Thanks for the kind words about my work. I just checked out yours and I loved it too! I like the creative and artistic flare of your images and I also love the admixture of visual art and information on your blog. I am assuming you live in London?. How long have you been a photographer?. I really like your name by the way! Stay in touch 🙂

  4. Eden says:

    Nice work Karina. Very bright 🙂

  5. iamscotia says:

    I need to get out to California, ASAP. The wait is killing me.

  6. You MUST ! It is incredibly beautiful, and while you are here come visit Colorado too where I live. Absolutely beautiful too 🙂

  7. chicalarusse says:

    Wonderful photos! Makes me want to go to California more then ever! (I’ve never been, but I heard it’s sunny 😉 )

    • Yes! You should definitely visit!! It is one of the my favorite places in the US. Where do you live?

      • chicalarusse says:

        I live in New York City, I’ve fallen for the big apple 4 years ago, not sure I’ll ever leave… You?

      • Yeah NYC tend to grab people that way, it is a magnificent place but not me, haha, I semi-lived there about a year ago and that somehow made me understand that is not the right place for me to live, I need nature and peace…nevertheless, it is one of my favorite places in the world. I live in beautiful Denver and I could not love it more! 🙂

      • chicalarusse says:

        Sweet… Never been to Denver so I’ll have to take your word for it 😉
        Yeah, I understand where you’re coming from, I grew up on the beach (Israel…) and that is the only thing I truly miss in living here- but hey, there are a lot of distractions!

      • chicalarusse says:

        I know exactly what you mean! It’s incredible how much we all need a tad of nature to balance everything out…!
        I grew up on the shore of the mediterenian sea and the beach is the thing I miss the most about living in the city… But then again, there are so many thing to make it up for it (and a valid excuse to take vacations in Israel more often 😉 )

Leave a Reply

