HaPpY BiRthDaY To ME…

My birthday was last week so the week before that I asked my friend and co-worker John to do a fun photo-shoot with me!I really don’t know when it was the last time I did one, so I decided to wear couple cute outfits and go have fun with John.

Since the pictures came out so cute, I decided to post them here for all of you to see and to write a little bit about some of the realizations I have had in the past few years.

In general as an individual I’ve always been dissatisfied with the repetition of mediocrity. I can be pretty intolerant when it comes to poor values, lack of strength and vision, second rater mentalities, lack of awareness, or excessive intellectualism divorced from humility. I’ve always felt the need to rise above mundane and materialistic milieus.

I believe that living only in the realm of reason, memory and sensory pleasures is a waste of someone’s life. Intellect alone, not fertilized by imagination and not guided by the heart is sterile. We all need to cultivate self-awareness and wisdom in order to understand who we are and achieve real personal development , and the only way to attain this is through a spiritual path. Wisdom can’t be learned because it cannot be expressed in rational terms, they would limit, narrow and falsify it.

I would like to use the metaphor “The gap between the two trapezes” as a way to explain my realizations. I heard this in a Coldplay song and it immediately sent me down into a spiral of associations.
During the last few years I have gone through very dark times. I lost my father to cancer, I had it rough financially as the economy affected my business, I felt sick and weak very often, and I had my heart shattered in pieces again by my poor choice of a partner.

One day your entire life is a balancing act between your wishes, obligations and compromises… the next day, your whole world crumbles by the ocurrance of something critical. It could be some minor change in lifestyle, or something really life altering. No matter the gravity of the issue, you find yourself confronted by the need to let go of the past and the need to trust your future.

I personally believe in the sacredness of the space between the two trapezes. As you float in complete zero g even for a fraction of a second , conquering the fear that allowed you to let go of the first trapeze, and trusting that you will catch the next one, is one of most important spiritual teachings you will ever learn. Not letting go of your past out of attachment and not trusting the future because of fear won’t allow you to experience any change, therefore you will miss out many wonderful opportunities in life and you will continue to stagnate.

That sacred space between two trapezes is the perfect balance in the spiritual universe, where we are very present and very free, and it liberates us from self-imposed restrictions. This sacred gap is now my happy place, it is where I reside most of the time, filled with peace, feeling free, full of love and trusting life…

Happy Birthday to me! Today I celebrate the new me and I trust that the best times of my life lie right ahead…

Thanks for visiting my blog . I hope you found these words helpful and inspiring, so please check back again soon or feel free to subscribe 🙂 Either way, lots of love to you…

I want to acknowledge Briceson Ducharme for doing such a great job with my make up! Please try him at the Mac store in the Cherry Creek Mall. The fabulous Marcheta Clemens for doing my hair, she is the best and works at Bang Salon in Washington Park, and of course the biggest shout out to the wonderful John Bosley for the amazing job with the pictures. To see more of his work please visit: http://www.johnbosleyphotography.com

This entry was posted in Advertising Photography, Essays, Fashion Photography, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to HaPpY BiRthDaY To ME…

  1. Tess says:

    i love that metaphor for life! great post, karina. and happy birthday!!

  2. joshi daniel says:

    cool pics and belated b’day wishes 🙂

  3. Mome says:

    Felíz Vida mi querida Amiga!!! sigues igual de bella por fuera y más hermosa que nunca por dentro! te quiero con todo mi corazón!….

  4. John Bosley says:

    Wonderful words, Karina! Thank you for working with me on the other side of the camera. I had a great time!

  5. Thank you so much John! 🙂

  6. Anita Garcia says:

    Bellisimas las fotos y el contenido!! Happy belated birthday!
    No se dond estas viviendo pero si vienes x Miami, avisame a ver si podemos tener la suerte d q nos puedas hacer unas fotos taaannn lindas!
    Bsito

  7. Jill says:

    Very inspirational message, Karina and I must say you look absolutely stunning (as always).

Leave a Reply

